Question on CML and Market Portfolio

dennisyap

Hi David,

I am studying the diagram of Expected Return vs Volatility of a portfolio of risk free asset + risky asset. The diagram showed CML and the market portfolio which I have a question on. Points along the CML (Between risk free return and market portfolio) is a portfolio consisting of a % of risk free asset and a % of Market portfolio. How can we create a portfolio which lays on points along the CML (beyond the market portfolio) which has a expected return greater than those on the efficient frontier? I thought the maximum expected return is a portfolio of 100% in risky asset.

Best Regards,
Dennis

arteja

I think you can do that by borrowing at the risk free rate and investing in the market portfolio.

David Harper CFA FRM

David Harper CFA FRM
Subscriber
Yes, because it's a percentage of portfolio funds; e.g., 130/30 funds are short 30% and long 130%

You might find helpful the associated XLS: http://www.bionicturtle.com/premium/spreadsheet/1.a.2._cml_sml/
(first tab is CML)

Note in this XLS, the expected return of market portfolio is about 12.2%
(i.e., here the MP is merely the mix of Asset A&B with highest sharpe ration. Very simple universe of two assets)
So, if you have $100, and you invest 100% in MP, E(return) = 12.2%

if you look down to rows 37+ you see the *leveraged* allocations; e.g., 150% = E(return) of 14.8% because:

you invest $100 plus you borrow $50:
Future value of ($150 in market portfolio) = 150*1.122 = about $168.3
then payoff your loan @ $53.5 (= 50* 1.07 riskfree rate)
= about $114.8 in future value
= 114.8/100 = 14.8% return on your original $100

i think this is worth a meditation because this is leverage-in-action. Not unlike Jorion's leverage, Hull's, McDonald's;
e.g., you could borrow 90% and invest only $10 of your own to buy $100 of the Market portfolio - very highly leveraged,