GARCH(1,1) Model : Long_Run_Volatility

gargi.adhikari

Can anyone explain what a "Long Run" Volatility is...? I am studying the GARCH Model but not sure what the "LONG RUN" Volatility means....is it Volatility "Over a Longer Span of Time" ..?upload_2017-5-24_9-56-55.gif Am not able to find much articles/resources to explain Long Run Volatility online either... :-(

David Harper CFA FRM

David Harper CFA FRM
Subscriber
Hi @gargi.adhikari It’s a great question, as usual from you! :) I would like to acknowledge there exist some technical nuances (which might be explored in C. Alexendar at https://forum.bionicturtle.com/reso...ractical-financial-econometrics-volume-ii.91/, or for an even deeper resource, one of my favorites on this topic is Stephen Taylor’s Asset Price Dynamics http://amzn.to/2qoaBGl). Given that caveat …

The long-run average variance (aka, σ^2) is also called the unconditional variance in GARCH. As you know, I like examples. Say yesterday’s volatility was 1.0%, σ(n-1) = 0.010, and conveniently the most recent price return is +1.0%, µ(n-1) = +1.0%. EWMA updates the variance with the latest squared return, but in this example, they are the same such that, for any λ, EWMA will return an updated variance of 0.01^2. What does this EMWA model forecast for the DAILY volatility in ten days? Or thirty days? (note: this is not a ten-day volatility, but rather a forecast of the the one-day volatility forward in time ten days!). Well, I think you can either say “EMWA does not forecast” or, maybe you can say “the best EWMA can do is forecast the same current 1.0% volatility forward, as a flat line, so to speak.”