Can't follow the math in FRM Handbook!! Am I doomed?

I will be taking the FRM exam for Nov 2010 part 1. I purchased the FRM Handbook (Jorion) and started reading the first chapter on Quantitative Analysis this week. I was only able to get up to page 7 before being lost in the math. I have no CFA background and haven't used complex math since college 15 years ago so the math is going over my head. I have a CPA (which doesn't use complex math).

My question is whether my limited math knowledge will be a major hinder in passing the FRM exam?

The FRM Handbook seems to assume that the reader understands the math symbols and concepts, because it doesn't explain them. Does the exam require strong math skills, because based upon the Quant Analysis chapter of the FRM Handbook it appears that it does? If so, where do I turn for instruction that will help me to understand the equations? Do I need to go get a calculus textbook and try to learn it real quick, or will the BT webinars get basic enough to help me understand the complex equations? Or is there another source that would be helpful to me in understanding the math equations. Flipping through the FRM Handbook, it appears that the math will only get worse (since I have only made it up to page 7)!

Any advice would be great.

T.Flockert

I think there is enough time for you to get into the statistical concepts. I would recommend to get a good introduction to statistics (book).

The concepts used (in level 1) are in part sophisticated, but you don't have get deep into those topics. And those basic ideas are easy to understand, if you get used to the notation. And for most test-questions you just have to know the formulas by heart and do not need a deep understanding of all details related to it.